Changes to PINZ Board

18 September 2020

The Board of the Property Institute of New Zealand has confirmed its make-up for the 2020 year, welcomed two new faces and farewelled three members.

PINZ President Luke van den Broek says the PINZ Board make a lot of personal sacrifice, particularly of their time, to contribute to this organisation for the benefit of members.

“The Board has worked very hard to challenge the status quo, upskill themselves and commit to a strategic review of PINZ. Our focus over the past 12 months has been on professional membership services that are relevant to members.

“I would like to thank retiring Board member Susie Penrose as the representative from the Central Region for her contribution, dedication, and commitment to the Board. I would also like to thank Karen Withers for her contribution and commitment to the Board during her time as the President of the Property Managers Institute of New Zealand.

“I acknowledge Patrick O’Reilly, the Immediate Past President of the Property Institute of New Zealand who is completing his term on the Board – the contribution he has made on behalf of all of us has been immense. I wish him all the best.

The PINZ President has also welcomed two new faces onto the Property Institute Board.

“Congratulations Ben Gill for being elected onto the Board unopposed, as a Central Region representative, and welcome David Pearse, the Property Managers Institute of New Zealand (PROMINZ) President to the Board.”

This morning, the Board has confirmed Luke van den Broek as President and Phillip Merfield as Independent Director for 2020/2021. The Board will be appointing a Vice President at its next meeting in November – keep an eye out for this separate announcement.

The Property Institute Board for 2020/2021 is:
President Luke van den Broek, Jeff Alexander – New Zealand Institute of Valuers President, Phillip Merfield – Independent Director, Des Wai - Chair of the Institute of Property Advisors & Consultants, Phil Porteous – Commercial Property Managers Institute Chair, Steve Bown – Plant & Machinery Valuers Institute Chair, David Pearse – President of the Property Managers Institute, Roger Gordon - 2nd NZIV Representative, Boris Babic – Northern Representative, Ben Gill – Central Region Representative, Daniel Gerrand – Young Leader Representative.

“I wish to thank the Board Members for their continuing service to the Institute as we strive for continuous improvement through more professional development, comprehensive induction training, and strong strategic direction.”